If I get a DUI conviction, how long will my driver's license be suspended?
Typically, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) will suspend a person's driver's license for 90 days for a first offense misdemeanor DUI. A person may be eligible for a restricted license, which allows the person to drive to work, treatment, etc. for 60 of those days. Eligibility for the restricted license is usually based upon the person's prior driving record. A person should check with the MVD to see if they are eligible for this restrictive license. It is very important that a person reinstate their driving privilege after the suspension period. It doesn't just automatically get reinstated. Usually, that requires payment of a reinstatement fee and possibly other requirements required by MVD. If a person fails to reinstate their license, it continues to be suspended until they do so. A felony DUI conviction results in a revocation of the person's driver's license for up to 3 years. There is no allowance for a restricted license in this situation. If a person has an out-of-state driver's license, Arizona may report the conviction to the licensing state and that state may take action on the person's license as well.