What You Need to Know about Arizona Emancipation:
- Although most children are considered emancipated from their parents at the age of 18, those who are impaired mentally or physically and cannot take care of themselves are not considered emancipated at that age.
- If you are legally married, you are already considered emancipated in Arizona.
- You must be at least 16 years of age and under 18 years of age to seek emancipation. Keep in mind that the process of emancipation can take a while, so you might want to look at other options if you are 17.
- You must be a legal resident of Arizona and file in the correct county.
- You must be able to support yourself, including procuring food and housing.
- Your parents will have no legal responsibility to provide any financial aid to you and will not be able to claim you as a dependent on their income taxes.
- Your parents must be notified, unless their rights have already been terminated by the court.
- If you are on probation or otherwise a ward of the court, you may not apply for emancipation.
Applying for Emancipation in Arizona
In order to apply for emancipation, you will need to file forms and pay a fee. Additionally, you'll need to provide one of the following:
- Proof you've been living outside the home and away from your parents for at least three months;
- A statement explaining why it is unsafe or unhealthy to remain in your parents' home;
- A signed and notarized copy of consent to the emancipation from your parent or legal guardian.
If you're considering applying for emancipation in Arizona, contact a friendly Maricopa County family law attorney today at 1-888-929-5292 for a FREE legal consultation. We are devoted to helping families understand their rights and minimize their stress during a tough time. Also, pick up a free copy of our book for families entitled Arizona Family Law - How to Handle Tough Issues in Tough Times.