License Suspension for Arizona DUI
Depending on the results of the blood alcohol test, your license may be suspended before your hearing. If your test results come back as .08 or higher, you will receive a notice that your license is suspended for 90 days. After the first month of suspension, you will be permitted to drive to and from school or work.
Sentencing for Arizona DUI
Arizona drunk driving laws are tough, and you will serve time in jail if you are convicted. As a first-time offender, depending on your blood alcohol content, you can expect the following:
- Below .15: Minimum of 24 hours in jail
- Between .15 and .20: Minimum of 30 days in jail
- Above .20: Minimum of 45 days in jail
If this is not your first Arizona DUI offense, then you can expect much stiffer sentencing. For a second offense, although it depends on your circumstances and history, you can expect:
- Less than .15: Minimum of 30 days in jail
- Between .15 and .20: 120 days in jail
- Over .20: 180 days in jail
Along with the license suspension and jail time, you also can expect orders for mandatory fines, alcohol/drunk driving education classes, and an ignition interlock device in your car.
The First Step after a Maricopa County DUI Arrest
Your behavior and decisions in the first few hours after a DUI arrest can have a significant impact on your case as a whole. Don't try to go it alone! If you have been arrested for driving drunk in Arizona, call a respected Tempe DUI lawyer as soon as possible at 1-888-929-5292. Your unique case deserves individual treatment, and we are devoted to providing compassionate and personal attention to our clients after an Arizona DUI arrest. Learn more about your rights and how we can help in our FREE book, DUI's in Arizona - What You Must Know.