How Do You Clear Up a Driver’s License Suspension in Arizona?
The Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is rather confusing to work with. They have a habit of sending letters that apply to the same thing but discuss different processes, which leads to a lot of confusion on the driver’s part, especially when it comes to how to reinstate a license suspension.
But a close reading of each letter will reveal a very simple process and a clear step-by-step on how to clear up a driver’s license suspension.
The Process to Clear Up a Driver’s License Suspension with Arizona DMV
A person who has a license suspension in Arizona needs to do a couple of things in a timely manner to get their license reinstated. The exact steps they need to take may depend on their unique case, particularly the cause of their suspension.
Pay a Reinstatement Fee
The very minimum requirement to clear up a license suspension with Arizona DMV is to pay the reinstatement fee after the suspension period. This can cost around $50 to $60, depending on the driver’s age group.
Other Things To Do Depending on the Cause of the Suspension
Aside from paying the fee, there may be a couple more things required from the driver, depending on their offense. Here are a couple of examples.
Traffic Survival School
Those whose licenses got suspended because of the following offenses will be required to attend and complete traffic survival school (TSS):
- Running a red light/ stop sign
- Aggressive driving
- Moving violations that result in death or serious injury
- First moving violation for drivers under 18 years of age
- Drivers who accumulate 8 or more points in a 12-month period
A person whose license is suspended because of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will need to pass a drug or alcohol screening before they can get their license reinstated.
A revocation, or removal of driving privileges, happens upon a person’s conviction of certain driving offenses. These include cases that involve DUIs, homicide or assault with the use of a vehicle, drive-by shootings, etc.
When a driver’s license has been revoked, they need to wait out their revocation period before they can apply for reinstatement. The application process begins by completing an investigation packet, which the DMV will use to conduct an investigation to ensure that all legal requirements have been met.
How to Monitor Your Driver’s License Status
All drivers with an Arizona license should go onto azmvdnow.gov and create an account. This is where they can view their driving license records and monitor the status of their suspension. Drivers who are looking to reinstate their licenses can also pay the reinstatement fee online through this website.
What Should I Do If I’m Incarcerated and Owe Child Support?
A parent with a child support order must pay the amount decreed. If they cannot, for example, if they are in jail, the obligation to pay child support does...
Can I Get My Civil Rights Restored in Arizona If I am a First-Time Felony Offender?
Arizona laws are stricter than most states when it comes to the civil rights of a felony offender. When someone is convicted of a felony, they lose their...