Arizona Simple Assault vs. Aggravated Assault
If you are facing an Arizona assault charge, then you should understand the differences between simple assault and aggravated assault.
An Arizona simple assault charge, or misdemeanor assault, can result when you:
- Put someone else in fear of bodily harm
- Touch another person with the intent to cause physical injury
- Cause physical injury to another person
Penalties of simple assault charges
If you are convicted of a simple assault charge, you could be:
- Sentenced up to 12 months in prison
- Fined up to $2,500
Aggravated assault charges are more serious and result when:
- You cause serious physical injury
- Your crime was committed with a deadly weapon
- You cause temporary but significant disfigurement or fracture to another person
- The assault occurred after you entered someone’s private residence
- The victim is a police officer, firefighter, teacher, medical professional, or prison guard
Aggravated assault is considered a class 3 felony and can result in a long prison sentence. If you have been charged with a simple or aggravated assault charge, contact an Arizona aggravated assault lawyer today to order a copy of our free book, Arizona Criminal Law – What You Must Know.
Also, contact one of our Phoenix criminal lawyers at the law firm of Curry, Pearson & Wooten, PLC by calling 602-258-1000 or toll free at 1-888-9AZLAWCOM (888-929-5292).
What Should I Do If I’m Incarcerated and Owe Child Support?
A parent with a child support order must pay the amount decreed. If they cannot, for example, if they are in jail, the obligation to pay child support does...
Can I Get My Civil Rights Restored in Arizona If I am a First-Time Felony Offender?
Arizona laws are stricter than most states when it comes to the civil rights of a felony offender. When someone is convicted of a felony, they lose their...