Phoenix DUI Attorneys Explain The Changes to Arizona DUI Laws
As of January 1, 2012, Arizona’s DUI laws have changed. For DUI offenses committed after January 1, 2012, the following changes are now in effect:
- A person charged with a first offense regular DUI (non-extreme) is no longer entitled to a jury trial.
- Jurisdictions with Continuous Alcohol Monitoring Programs can allow home detention after serving 20% of the initial term of incarceration.
- Work release from jail increased to 6 days a week, 12 hours per day.
- MVD can suspend a person’s license under Arizona implied consent laws if test results show the presence of a prohibited drug or its metabolite and person does not possess a valid prescription for the drug (previously the law only allowed a suspension under the Implied Consent Law for alcohol where the person’s BAC was over a .08 or refusals).
- Some license suspensions and revocations related to a DUI case may allow for a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Drivers License.
Some courts are even applying these new sentencing provisions to cases where the offense occurred before January 1, 2012, but the cases were not resolved until after that date! It’s important to discuss these matters with an experienced Phoenix DUI attorney. The attorneys at Curry, Pearson & Wooten will be glad to speak with you about your situation. For more information, call 602-258-1000 or toll free at 1-888-9AZLAWCOM (888-929-5292).