Underage DUI Charges in Arizona
Arizona has some of the strictest laws and punishments for driving under the influence. Across the country, tales of Tent City and the “pink pajamas” are well-known reminders of just how seriously Arizona treats DUI convictions. If you are underage, however, the penalties you may face for driving under the influence of alcohol are even greater.
Underage Drinking and Driving: A Dangerous Arizona Epidemic
Because of the presence of several large universities throughout Arizona, a large number of DUI arrests made involve drivers under the age of 21. While some people assume that the state may treat first-time underage offenders more gently, quite the opposite is true.
For anyone that is 21 years or older, the legal blood alcohol content level is the standard 0.08%. For drivers under the age of 21, Arizona exercises a strict zero-tolerance policy; this means that if a blood, urine, or breath test reveals a BAC over 0.00%, an underage driver will likely be cited for driving under the influence of alcohol.
In an attempt to deter young drivers from drinking and getting behind the wheel, Arizona has implemented tough penalties for those convicted of DUI. First-time offenders could face:
- Criminal Record: A lifelong class 1 misdemeanor on their record
- Imprisonment: For offenders 18 years of age or older, imprisonment for one day up to 180 days
- Fines: Fines, fees, and court costs up to $2500
- License Suspension: Two years of driving privilege suspension
- Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory installment of device for up to three years in your car
- Alcohol Education: Mandatory counseling on substance abuse
When it comes to driving drunk, Arizona law does not see age as an excuse for driving drunk. If you drink and drive, expect to face the consequences for the rest of your life.
Contact an Experienced, Knowledgeable Phoenix Underage DUI Attorney
If you or your child have been charged with a DUI while underage, you need to act now to ensure that your life will not be forever affected by one mistake. At Curry, Pearson & Wooten, our tough Phoenix DUI attorneys can help you challenge the evidence and charges against you. Contact us now for a free, no-obligation consultation by calling us at 602-258-1000.