Phoenix Marijuana Lawyer | Transporting Marijuana in Arizona
If you have been arrested for transporting marijuana in Phoenix, you probably have a lot of questions that only a Phoenix drug lawyer who is familiar with your case can answer. However, here are some of the basics to help you start making sense of what you could be facing.
What is Transport of Marijuana?
“Transporting marijuana” means smuggling or taking marijuana from one place to another. There is a common misconception that this only means in a car, but it can be in a car, in a truck, on an airplane, on foot, by boat, by bike, or even on horseback. In one interesting case, a catapult was even used to transfer marijuana over the Arizona border.
Arizona states that it is illegal for any person to knowingly “transport for sale, import into this state or offer to transport for sale or import into this state, sell, transfer or offer to sell or transfer marijuana.”
What Are the Penalties?
If you are caught transporting marijuana in Arizona, how you are charged will depend on how much marijuana you were found with. Less than 2 pounds transported into Arizona is charged as a class 3 felony, and transporting more than 2 pounds is a class 2 felony.
If you are convicted of transporting marijuana, you will face steep fines in addition to the felony record and prison time. The minimum fine for a marijuana conviction is $750. Depending on the total value of the marijuana you were caught transporting, your fine could be as much as $150,000.
How Can a Phoenix Marijuana Lawyer Help?
An experienced Phoenix marijuana lawyer can help evaluate the evidence in your case and work to build a strong case in your defense. Having strong legal counsel on your side means that you have the best chance for reducing the charges against you, reducing the penalties you suffer, or even having the charges dropped.
The Phoenix drug lawyers with Curry, Pearson & Wooten would be happy to speak with you or your loved ones after you have been arrested for transporting marijuana in Phoenix or the surrounding areas. Give us a call today at 1-888-929-5292 or fill out the contact form on this page for assistance. We would also like to offer you a completely FREE copy of our helpful book Arizona Criminal Law – What You Must Know.
What Should I Do If I’m Incarcerated and Owe Child Support?
A parent with a child support order must pay the amount decreed. If they cannot, for example, if they are in jail, the obligation to pay child support does...
Can I Get My Civil Rights Restored in Arizona If I am a First-Time Felony Offender?
Arizona laws are stricter than most states when it comes to the civil rights of a felony offender. When someone is convicted of a felony, they lose their...